Slice Of Life #1 Saving A Dog

Yesterday me and my mom were walking home from my friend’s house. It was raining outside and thunder rumbled and lightning lit up the sky. We were rushing home with the umbrellas over our heads. Then, suddenly we noticed someone was following us. It wasn’t a human, it was a dog. A large brown dog. The picture inserted into this post is of that dog. Well, I tried to draw the dog. That’s how I remember it looking. So, my mom told me to put down my umbrella. We didn’t want to scare the poor frightened dog. It was raining harder now. The thunder and lightning was getting more rapid. It was easy to be scared. Especially if you were a lost dog. The medium sized dog slowly padded toward us. Then, when it got closer, it continued its slow pace away from us. We slowly followed saying things like, “It’s okay baby, don’t worry we’ll get you home.” It had a collar, so we knew that was true. My mom pulled out her phone (note this was in the rain… so good sacrifice? Well… her phone was fine.) and dialed 911. When they answered she said, “I’m so sorry this is not an emergency, but I don’t know what to do in this situation. I found a lost dog, and it’s dark so I can’t see it’s collar. It does have a collar though. So we just need someone to help find the dog’s home. Oh! Okay! Thank you so much!” Then she put down the phone. “They’re gonna be here soon.” She told me. A few other people drove up in their car. My mom called, “Is this your dog!?” The story could have been over then but her answer was, “No.”
“Do you recognize this dog?”
“I’ve lived here for two years and I’ve never seen this dog.”
“I’ve lived here my whole life!” I said… but no one noticed… I then continued, “Which isn’t long because I’m… kinda… young…” Of course, no one heard me. Or maybe no one cared. My mom then squatted down for a split second before declaring, “She’s a girl.” That made me want to laugh, but I didn’t.
“Well, good luck.” The people got into their car and drove away. We were stuck with the dog for maybe fifteen more minutes. Standing out in the rain with a sad frightened dog. She sat with us though. My mom hummed a very annoying song, while we stood in the freezing rain.

Suddenly, the dog rushed across the street. We slowly chased after her. We wanted to make sure we could still see her, but we also didn’t want to scare her. She ran up to a house and sat at the door.
“Is that your home?” I asked. Of course, since humans can’t understand dogs, there was no response, but she stayed by the door. After a few minutes of my mom calling, “HELLO! IS THIS YOUR DOG!?” A man drove up in a car. He pulled up and instantly saw the dog.
“Hey! Over here!” He yelled. My mom looked around and asked the question of the day, “Is this your dog?”
“Yeah!”
“YAY!”

After a bit of happiness from dog to owner, the animal control finally arrived. There was a man with the strongest flashlight I’ve ever seen. Hurt to look at from maybe fifteen feet away! My told him, “I’m so sorry to have bothered you! The dog found her owner!” The man said it was okay then asked why kind of dog it was. My mom answered, “Medium sized, brown fur, fluffy tail.”
“Oh. Her. She has a reputation of getting out!” He laughed. Soon all of the drama was over and we rushed home through the rain.
“Put up your umbrella.” My mom said. I gave her a weird look before saying, “Really, like we could get even more soaked?” 😉

3 thoughts on “Slice Of Life #1 Saving A Dog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *